Tipperary Community Services Centre in St Michael Street, Tipperary town, affiliated to Muintir na Tire, is about providing a range of social services in and around Tipperary. The centre has been in operation for nearly forty years. Before that the building was a national school and continues to be owned by the parish. Management is in the hands of a voluntary committee and much of the work is done by members of a CE scheme. The central service operated in the building is Meals-on- Wheels, five days a week, together with an associated restaurant for restricted customers. Tipperary Mid-West Community Radio, Active Retirement and Tipperary Citizens Information are also based in the Services Centre.

Organisational Structure

(Affiliated to the National Organisation of Muintir na Tire)

Officers and members of Management Committee:

Breda Ryan: Chairperson
Brian Rafferty: Secretary
Tom Fitzgerald: Treasurer
Des Marnane: Assistant Treasurer:
Angela Lonergan
Denis Hartnett
Justin McCarthy
Elaine Fitzpatrick

Members of Meals-on-Wheels Committee:

Des Marnane: Chairperson
Tom Fitzgerald: Secretary / Treasurer
Mary Donovan : Nurse
Maureen Gleeson
Bryan O’Brien
Teresa Hinchey : Supervisor


Noonan 0’CinnĂ©ide & Co,
St Michael’s Street, Tipperary


Bank of Ireland, Main Street, Tipperary